Free senior care guidance for New Orleans-area families. No cost to you, ever.
Call (504) 238-3464
New Orleans Senior Advisor(504) 238-3464

Senior care in Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton

Licensed options in this part of New Orleans, straight from Louisiana's records.

Quick answer

The Louisiana Department of Health's October 2026 roster lists 4 licensed adult residential care providers and 5 nursing homes (409 certified beds) in the Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton part of New Orleans (ZIP codes 70115, 70118, 70125, 70130).

Home›New Orleans›Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton

This part of New Orleans follows the river and St. Charles Avenue from the Lower Garden District and the Warehouse District through the Garden District, the Irish Channel, Uptown and the university neighborhoods around Audubon Park to Carrollton and Broadmoor. The St. Charles streetcar runs its length, and Touro Infirmary on Prytania Street is the area's acute-care hospital.

It holds some of the city's oldest institutions for older adults, including faith-based and nonprofit homes that have operated on the same blocks for generations, alongside newer assisted living towers near the river. Families comparing options here often weigh walking distance to a parish church, a streetcar line or a doctor's office on Napoleon Avenue as heavily as the building itself.

How many licensed senior care options are in Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton?

The Louisiana Department of Health's October 2026 roster lists 4 licensed adult residential care providers and 5 nursing homes (409 certified beds) in the Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton part of New Orleans (ZIP codes 70115, 70118, 70125, 70130).

Available in Uptown, the Garden District & CarrolltonNot available in Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton
Licensed here (LDH roster)Adult residential care providers: 4, Nursing homes: 5, Home health agencies: 1, Adult day health care centers: 2—
Not licensed here—Hospices
Level 3 or 4 assisted living4 buildings—

Which assisted living providers are licensed in Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton?

Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton has 4 licensed adult residential care providers on LDH's October 2026 roster, 4 at Level 3 or 4; the largest is The Carrollton, licensed for 138 residents.

FacilityLicense typeLicensed capacityFirst licensedLicense status
The Carrollton
701 South Carrollton Avenue, 70118
Level 31382023Licensed through 01/31/2027
SGC Group LLC
1101 Aline Street, 70115
Level 3952013Licensed through 06/30/2027
Lambeth House Assisted Living
150 Broadway Street, 70118
Level 3612004Licensed through 09/30/2027
Oak House Assisted Living
5354 Magazine St., 70115
Level 3332013Licensed through 07/31/2027

What nursing homes are in Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton, and how does CMS rate them?

5 licensed nursing homes are in Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton, with 409 certified beds; 2 of the 3 with a CMS overall rating hold four or five stars.

FacilityCMS overall ratingLicensed capacityLast CMS health inspectionDeficiencies cited
Chateau De Notre Dame Community Care Center
2832 Burdette Street, 70125
3 of 5171June 3, 20260
Covenant Home
5919 Magazine Street, 70115
4 of 596May 20, 20261
John J. Hainkel, Jr. Home & Rehabilitation Center
612 Henry Clay Avenue, 70118
5 of 5142April 16, 20260
Poydras Home
5354 Magazine Street, 70115
Not rated by CMS—not reportedn/a
St. Anna's at Lambeth House
150 Broadway, 70118
Not rated by CMS—not reportedn/a

Which home health, hospice and adult day providers are based in Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton?

1 licensed home health agency, 0 hospices and 2 adult day health care centers list an address in Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton; agencies usually serve clients well beyond their office ZIP code.

  • Clover NOLA, Inc. — adult day health care center, license #2203782908, first licensed 1982
  • Poydras Home Activity Services for the Elderly (PHASE) — adult day health care center, license #2662, first licensed 2005
  • LCMC Health Home Care — home health agency, license #2203787171, first licensed 1987

Which hospitals are closest to Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton?

Measured from the center of the area, the closest acute-care hospitals on LDH's licensed roster are Touro Infirmary (about 1.1 miles) and University Medical Center New Orleans (about 1.8 miles).

Ochsner Medical Center is about 3.8 miles away. These are straight-line distances between ZIP-code centroids, useful for comparison but not drive times.

Does PACE serve Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton?

Every ZIP code in Uptown, the Garden District & Carrollton is in the service area LDH lists for PACE Greater New Orleans (504-945-1531), the program that combines Medicare and Medicaid care for people 55 and older who meet nursing home level of care but can live safely at home.

PACE Greater New Orleans is run by Catholic Charities Archdiocese of New Orleans from 4201 N. Rampart St. in the Bywater; a Medicaid-eligible participant pays nothing for PACE services. For other help, the New Orleans Council on Aging is at (504) 821-4121.

Source: Louisiana Department of Health, Health Standards Section, Licensed Providers Report, October 2026 (ldh.la.gov); ARCP level and capacity from LDH's location directory, retrieved October 31, 2026 (ldh.la.gov/directory); CMS Care Compare Provider Information, data as of October 1, 2026 (data.cms.gov). Star ratings are CMS's own; we do not rate facilities.

Not sure where to start?

Answer five questions and a local advisor will come back with senior care options in the New Orleans area that fit your situation and budget. It is free, and there is no obligation.

Find care options
Find Facilities Near You